Senior (and Sendoff) Spotlight

Senior (and send-off) Spotlight

LauraKate

Hey y’all! My name is LauraKate! I am finishing my second year at UGA but I’m transferring to Georgia Regents University (a.k.a. Medical College of Georgia) for nursing school this fall. I plan on becoming a nurse practitioner in a pediatric E.R. and I ultimately want to become a life flight nurse on a helicopter. I was diagnosed with type 1 diabetes on January 23, 2000 but I’m proud to say that it doesn’t tie me down! I have been on 4 mission trips, one of which was nearly 4 weeks long with no family when I was 17. I enjoy decorating cakes as well as watching Grey’s Anatomy of course!

Sarah

Sarah was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes in March 2000. “I was a member of Alpha Gamma Delta, their philanthropy raises money for juvenile diabetes research, here at UGA in my four years. I was also a member of Dawgs for Diabetes and Camp for a Cause benefitting Camp Twin Lakes. I studied psychology, on the pre-nursing track and will be graduating in May 2015. Starting in the fall of 2015, I will be pursuing my second bachelors in Nursing at Georgia Regents University in Augusta, Georgia in the hopes of one day working at Children’s Health Care in Atlanta on the pediatric oncology floor- it’s my dream! I have been an active camp goer for 14 years and I currently spend my summers living the dream working full time for Camp Twin Lakes as an outdoor adventure leader. It is bittersweet to be leaving Athens, but I cannot wait to see where D4D goes in the future. I owe a lot of my success to my support system here at UGA, which is made up of the amazing people I have met through camp and these clubs. My support system, as well as my family, has helped me reach my goals and I cannot thank them enough for everything that they have done to support and encourage me.”

Senior Quote- “When you have a passion for something you tend not only to be better at, but you work harder at it too.”- Vera Wang

Nate

Nate was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes in March of 2011. He has been involved with D4D since the spring of his freshman year in 2012. “I majored in accounting in the Terry ‪ College of Business; was active in my fraternity, Tau Epsilon Phi; volunteered my time with several clubs, including UGA Rotaract, Aces For Athens, and Dawgs For Diabetes; and participated in several intermural sports leagues. Upon Graduation, I will intern in the tax department of an accounting firm called McGladrey in Atlanta. I will also be volunteering at Camp Kudzu this summer during session one! In the fall, I will be coming back to UGA to earn my Masters of Accountancy.”

Senior Quote- “That which you manifest is before you.” from “The Art of Racing in the Rain”

Abbey

Abbey does not live with Diabetes, but she has several friends and family members who are impacted by Diabetes. She has been involved since her Freshmen year when everything was starting to get off the ground. “Abbey is a journalism major with a magazine emphasis, a communication studies minor, and a new media certificate, and she is graduating this May! In addition to D4D, Abbey has been involved with TEDxUGA, Grady Sports, UGA Rotaract Club, and UGA impact Trips (Charlotte, NC; Mobile, AL; and Durham, NC). In D4D,, she has attended every JDRF walk in Athens and a few in Atlanta, since her freshmen year. She was also involved The Campus Tour and many other programs! After graduation she is hoping to work in digital media or sports media. Abbey enjoys watching college football, especially SEC, and educating those around her about it. A few of her other favorite things include Disney, Harry Potter, and revisiting funny memories.”

Senior Quote- “It is our choices that show what we truly are, far more than our abilities.” -Albas Dumbledore.

 

Meagan

Meagan was diagnosed with type one diabetes in October of 2002, and she was a major contributor to The Campus Tour, JDRF Walks, and keeping track of the little things that would have been missed. “These last four years have passed by so quickly, it’s hard to believe I will be graduating soon. Within my time at UGA I have been involved with Miracle and Dawgs for Diabetes (since the beginning when our meetings were filled with two people haha). I am so fortunate to be a part of an organization such as D4D and to be able to see it grow so much in the past few years with the dedication of everyone involved. It took me some time, but I found what I am passionate about – I will receive a B.S. in Health Promotion this May. I will soon be going on to get my MPH and hopefully someday work in NYC helping the lives of others and spreading public health awareness through means of health communications.”

Senior Quotes- “The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams” – Eleanor Roosevelt and “Without leaps of imagination or dreaming, we lose the excitement of possibilities. Dreaming, after all is a form of planning.” -Gloria Steinem.

Mindy

Mindy was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes in March of 2000. “I’m about to graduate with a Bachelor in Social Work and a minor in Sociology! I’ve been involved a little all over the place on and off campus since my freshmen year, but my consistent involvement has been with Camp for a Cause, CASA (Court Appointed Special Advocates), Camp Kudzu, JDRF, Division of Student Affairs Student Advisory Board, the Disability Resource Center’s Speaker’s Bureau, causing trouble for change, and of course Dawgs for Diabetes. I spent my senior year interning at Hope Haven (working with adults with developmental disabilities). I will be moving to Boston after classes are finished to start working at CDN as the Program. I’ve truly enjoyed my four years at UGA and being a resident of Athens, and I’ll cherish all the memories and people who are in my life. I will also miss; walking on North Campus, eating at Ted’s and Trappeze, experiencing the arts and creativity scenes that are everywhere and most of all Dawgs for Diabetes. I’ve enjoyed my time in D4D these past four years and as president the past two and half years, and I have grown so much because of my involvement. I will never say it wasn’t hard, but I will be cliché and say it was worth it. All of the amazing parts (and the-not-so-great-parts) have gotten D4D where it is today! Wait- this is also a reflection of my life? Truly, it hasn’t been easy. I hope that I can use my experiences to help, advocate, and empower others in all that I do in the Diabetes community and beyond! I hope to dabble in writing and public speaking alongside my big girl job, and of course always causing trouble for change. Besides camp and the Diabetes Community, I thoroughly enjoy travel, binge-watching Netflix, crafting/Pinterest-ing, reading, and being obsessed with Disney, Harry Potter, and what people may see as “weird.” The passion and motivation makes me so proud and sentimental- I cannot wait to comment ‘my babies’ on everything I see. D4D is what I will miss most out of my college experience, but I am glad that I have made friendships that aren’t going anywhere. I cannot wait to see where D4D goes, and I am so proud of the motivation and compassion that I see in everyone in D4D!”

Senior Quotes- “It’s kind of fun to do the impossible.”- Walt Disney and “Rock bottom became the solid foundation on which I rebuilt my life.”- J.K. Rowling

Leave a Reply

