Grateful for my D4D Family!

Grateful for my D4D Family!

image1

Because I was previously very active in healthcare organizations in high school, I was searching for one upon arriving in Athens. I do not personally have diabetes; however, several of my family members, including my childhood dog, were diagnosed with diabetes during adulthood. Once I discovered the great things Dawgs for Diabetes has done for UGA students and the community, I immediately emailed Mindy to join.

Since I have joined, I have participated in several events, most memorably the JDRF Walk. The JDRF Walk funds scientific research for better methods of treating and curing diabetes. When I was at Sandy Creek Park for the walk, I enjoyed meeting a variety of joyful people affected by diabetes. The event featured several local organizations and individuals that were all gathered to support the fundraising for JDRF and diabetes. In retrospect, it was surely a highlight of my first semester.

On top of the great things Dawgs for Diabetes does for the fundraising of diabetes, D4D also provides a home for students with diabetes, relieving the anxiety associated with treatment of diabetes away from home. The Campus Tour that we hosted in the fall allowed incoming students with diabetes to be guided by D4D members, making the students feel at home. For me personally, I’m very grateful for the D4D family because I have made great friendships and have been able to be a part of a change in people’s lives.

Will is an Exercise ad Sports Science Major, Class of 2018. Follow Will on Instagram and twitter @willdufoeee.

Check out our entire February Newsletter!

Leave a comment